April 18 2015
Lockhart-Taylor Center
Wadesboro, N.C.

Follow us on Twitter!

"Like" us on Facebook!

See our Pins!

Site Menu


Past Conferences

2014 Back
Porch Stories

2013 Back
Porch Stories

2012 Back
Porch Stories

CWC Sponsors

About Anson County

Discover Anson

Chamber of Commerce

Town of Wadesboro

Kitchen Table Workshop

Marjorie HudsonExplore how to use an imaginary film camera to deepen your story's emotional punch. How does the camera zoom into deep point of view? How are your characters revealed through dialog beats? What does the camera linger on, leaving a ghost image that haunts us? And how do subtle repetitions of sounds and images make the endings of stories resonate?

All shall be revealed in craft talks and exercises in this one-day workshop with Marjorie Hudson , award winning author and teacher, and a popular leader of the Carolinas Writers Conference. Hudson is the author of "Searching for Virginia Dare," now in a new edition from Press 53, and "Accidental Birds of the Carolinas," an Honorable Mention for the prestigious PEN/Hemingway Award for Distinguished First Fiction. She has won fellowships from Hedgebrook, Headlands Center for the Arts, and the North Carolina Arts Council, and she teaches at colleges, arts councils, bookstores, and her own KitchenTable Workshops.

The workshop will be held in Wadesboro (venue to be announced) on Saturday, Nov. 8. Cost is $50. You may register at Paypal here or www.ansoncountywritersclub.org.

Sign up now to reserve your seat at the kitchen table!

Carolinas Writers Conference, April 18, 2015

The oversight committee for the 2015 conference met June 18 at Lady Bug restaurant to make plans. The dates will be April 17-18 (Back Porch Stories Friday and the conference Saturday). We talked about many issues and will report back as we make decisions. Meanwhile, SAVE THE DATE! Clockwise from top, Kaye, Sandy (secretary and webmaster), Karen, Beverly (treasurer), Rufus (conference chairman), Joan, J.A. (chairman Back Porch Stories).

A limited number of T-Shirts from the conference are available in sizes medium, large, X-large and XX-large at $15 each plus $3.99 shipping and handling. They are blue with the gold CWC logo. To order, send check or money order payable to the Anson County Writers Club and mail to T-Shirts, Anson County Writers Club, P.O. Box 363, Wadesboro NC 21870.